3 comments on “It’s My Birthday, I’ll Decry If I Want To

  1. Shoes. Apparently, that’s what the publishing industry thinks I want on the covers of my books because I’m a woman. I have no interest in shoes. I’m a lawyer, and the part of my job that amazes me the most is the number of women who don’t realize that they have few rights in the United States. For example, they are shocked to learn that they can be terminated from employment in most states because they need help lifting boxes at work after they’re pregnant (The federal Pregnant Workers Fairness Act would fix this problem). I gave a talk about Title IX (educational equity) last weekend, and some guy said to someone standing near me at the end of the presentation, “I mean, women don’t really need to play sports, do they? I think they were doing just fine before Title IX,” which was passed in 1972. That’s what a lot of men and even some women think. Women are doing just fine. Well, “just fine” isn’t the same was equality.

    Happy birthday, by the way.

  2. As a woman, it has cheered me enormously to see a man who ‘gets’ how the use of language can perpetuate attitudes and is willing to say so. So I don’t think you’re part of the problem – I think you are part of the solution. Thank you, and have a lovely birthday!

Click on me to leave a Comment!

