3 comments on “Review – The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison

  1. I used to teach The Bluest Eye to 10th graders, so I’m absolutely aware how accessible it is–they really got into it! Actually, now that I think about it, it’s probably one of Morrison’s most accessible books. Though my favorite part is the deconstructed Dick and Jane text at the beginning. Because at heart I am a nerdy English major. 😉

    • I read Jazz right after The Bluest Eye and, although I liked it, it was very clear that it wouldn’t be nearly as universal as The Bluest Eye. I also liked the Dick and Jane text, it reminded me a lot of Faulkner, who I’m also a fan of.

Click on me to leave a Comment!

