9 comments on “Review – The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

  1. I’ve just reviewed this book, and I struggled for a long time to know what to say. It isn’t perfect and there are some flaws, namely story and characters needing development. I preferred Poppet and Widget, yet I felt they weren’t included enough. The plot meanders.

    However, I couldn’t put the book down. The descriptions and the circus are completely enchanting and I truly enjoyed it despite my misgivings. A good, imaginative and colourful read in my humble opinion.

    • I just read your review on your blog and I think we are both in agreement that the ending was somewhat less than satisfying. And I absolutely agree that there are some areas that tripped Morgenstern up a little bit, but considering that it’s her debut (which I don’t think I realized until I read your post) it’s a pretty fantastic start. I loved in in spite of it’s problems and couldn’t put it down. More Poppet and Widget would have been nice, but I feel like that would have just exacerbated the meandering plot issue so I don’t know that they could have been included more in any coherent way. Regardless, it was still a lot of fun to read.

  2. Pingback: Judging a Cover by its Book | The Misfortune Of Knowing

  3. I AM SO GLAD YOU SAID BEACH READ BEACH READ! This was about to be my next to-read book, but I’m going to the beach in three weeks and I’m going to save it for that. What perfect timing you have. Thank you!

    • You are very welcome Cassie! I’m quite a bit jealous that you live somewhere that will have a warm beach in three weeks. Hope you have a good time!

  4. Nice to hear your take on it, though I’ll admit I disliked this book intensely. It is an atmosphere book in which little happens. I had a hard time connecting with Celia, I found Marco to be creepy, and the purposeless battle between the two felt like too much of a gimmick (at 54% of the way through, according to my Kindle, was the biggest “eye roll” moment). It just isn’t my cup of tea.

    • Thanks for the comment! I guess we’ll just have to chalk this up to different tastes. I can get totally lost in a book that creates such an intense atmosphere, even if there isn’t that much literal action. I didn’t read it on my Kindle, so I’m not sure exactly where your eye roll came in, but the battle between Marco and Celia didn’t come across as a gimmick to me. There were a few times when I got ahead of the plot (not to repeat my post), but the atmosphere was too intoxicating for me to get too upset by it. But, to each her own and all that. Let me know if you have a book you’d like me to review, perhaps our tastes will align more on a different story.

      • Yeah, to each their own. I’m not sure if you’d consider the language at 54% of the way through a spoiler (so I’ll refrain from quoting it), but it’s the part where Celia and Marco are talking about the point behind the battle. Such a gimmick. Not only did I roll my eyes; I actually exclaimed “WTF!” aloud. I talk about it a bit in the comments on my December 17, 2012 blog post (which was on this book). I am not interested in atmosphere or prose. I prefer a solid plot and strong character development. If I don’t connect with the characters, then the book fails for me.

      • I just ventured over to your blog (which is great, by the way, I’m now a follower) and read the lines that you mentioned. I’m not sure if they are spoilers either, but I’ll be cautious too and refrain from quoting them. I see how that would get on your nerves, especially if you hadn’t already bought into the characters. But, for me, those comments felt very honest from Celia and Marco considering what they’ve been through and what they’ve been told. And, as for the purpose (or lack there of) behind the game, that was definitely one of the weaker aspects of the novel, but I felt it was appropriate enough that these obsessive men had created it selfishly. Inventive and captivating? Not really. But it felt real enough for me to brush it off and keep reading.

Click on me to leave a Comment!

