2 comments on “Review – The Road by Cormac McCarthy

  1. Ah, loved The Road. Feel free to disagree, of course, but didn’t you find the emotional distance rather endearing? You had to look for subtleties to see how their relationship developed, which gives it such a personal feel in spite of the generically human names. I’m not sure.

    • Hi Mark! Thanks for the comment. I can see where you’re coming from, but, personally, I like to have a strong and slightly more obvious emotional connection with the characters in post-apocalyptic tales. The environment and situation are so jarring in these types of novels that the subtlety you refer to begins to feel tedious to me, and that blocks me from getting completely connected to the characters. I’m glad you liked The Road, though. Even though it wasn’t my absolute favorite, I still have a good time reading it. Are there any other books you’d like to review/discuss?

Click on me to leave a Comment!

